Hurriyat (G) condemns ‘arrest spree’ in Kashmir

‘PDP Led Coalition Not Allowing Us To Carry Political Activities’

Srinagar, Publish Date: Jan 23 2018 12:31AM | Updated Date: Jan 23 2018 12:31AM
Hurriyat (G) condemns ‘arrest spree’ in Kashmir

Condemning the “arrest spree” and placing resistance leaders under house arrest, Hurriyat Conference (G) on Monday termed it “as an extreme type of vandalism.” 

“This is martial law like situation. Since inception of PDP led coalition, the authorities are not allowing us to carry political activities,” Hurriyat (G) spokesperson said in a statement. 

The spokesperson said that the conglomerate chairman Syed Ali Shah Geelani continuous to be under house detention since last several years. “While ahead of R-Day of India, several leaders including Muhammad Ashraf Sehrai were placed under house arrest,” he said. 

“Muhammad Yasin Malik and Bilal Sidiqee were arrested and lodged in Central jail Srinagar and other leaders among those arrested and lodged in different police stations , include Shah Wali Muhammad, Hurriyat spokesperson Gulzar Ahmad, Muhammad Yasin Ataie, Syed Imtiyaz Hyder, Omer Adil Dar and Ashiq Husain Narchhor,” the spokesperson said. 

Hurriyat condemned the fresh arrest spree saying that apart from several youths, Masarat Allam Bhat, Dr Shafi Shariati, Dr Muhammad Qassim Faktoo, Ghulam Qadir Bhat, Dr Ghulam Muhammad Bhat, Shabir Ahmed Shah, Altaf Ahmad Shah, Ayaz Akbar, Peer Saifullah, Raja Meraj-u-Din Kalwal , Nayeem Ahmad Khan, Farooq Ahmed Dar, Shahid-ul-Islam, Zahoor Ahmad Watali, Kamran Yousuf, Javed Ahmed, Ghulam Muhammad Khan Sopori, Muhammad Yusuf Mir, Muhammad Ramazan Khan, Moulana Sarjan Barkati, Amir Hamza Shah, are languishing in different jails since long.

The spokesperson also decried the continuous imprisonment of Muhammad Yousaf Falahi, Mir Hafeez-Ullah, Muhammad Yousuf Lone, Abdul Ahad Para, Shakeel Ahmad Yatoo, Nisar Ahmed Najar, Javed Ahmad Phule, Mohammad Amin Ahangar, Muhammad Amin Parey, Latif Ahmed Dar, Mufti Abdul Ahad, Shakeel Ahmad Bhat ,Muhammad Ashraf Malik, Mansoor Ahmed Kaloo, Muhammad Subhan Wani, Hakim-ul-Rehman, Ikhlas Ahmad Sheikh, Shabir Ahmad Mir, Muhammad Sultan Sofi, Ghulam Nabi Gujri, Ghulam Hassan Shah, Abdul Majeed (Logripora), Abdul Gani Bhat, Raies Ahmad Mir, Salman Yousuf, Nazir Ahmed Manto, Tauseef Ahmed, Muhammad Rafiq Ganai, Farooq Tawheedi, Muhammad Subhan Khan, Ghulam Muhammad Tantrey, Gowher Ahmed Sheikh, Muhammad Rajab Bhat, Nasir Ahmad Ganai, Danish Mushtaq, Abdul Hameed Parey, Meraj-u-Din Niako, Abdul Rashid Rather, Shariq Maqbool, Hakim Showkat Ahmed, Sajjad Ahmed, Asadullah Parey, Sona ullah Dar, Hilal Ahmed Pala and Abdul Samad Inqilabi.

This site uses cookies to deliver our services and to show you relevant news and ads. By using our site, you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Cookie Policy, Privacy Policy, and our Terms of Service.That's Fine